The Very First Sci Fi Movie

teaserAloha – I have periodically reviewed favorite sci fi books I’ve read on my blog.  I have also put out occasional reviews or thoughts about current movie trends related to science fiction (comic book books are tangentially related).

Recently I’ve seen a number of lists:  Best 30 Westerns really piqued my interest as I generally disagree that half of the best Westerns ever made were made in Italy.  I started to think about the best science fiction movies I’ve ever seen, and realize that taste in sub-genres will influence what I consider to be best.  Nonetheless, I’m going to make a stab at it over the next several weeks.  I’m not ranking the best at this point, just identifying some of the stand out films in science fiction.  I’d love your feedback along the way.

The first known science fiction movie was made in 1902, A Trip to the Moon.  It was a 12 minute film written, produced, and directed by George Melies.  Melies made dozens of films in a very short period of time… 12 minutes was pretty long for most of his films.  You might think of him as a You-Tube film maker from the late 19th century.  The film is very loosely based on Jules Verne’s From the Earth to the Moon.  There are prints available, and you can in fact watch the entire film on YouTube

Is it a great film?  It holds up well considering when it was made.  It could even be compared to Avatar for the technological innovation for it’s time.  My rule of thumb for a great film is, “If I watched it yesterday, and it was showing on television today, would I stop and watch at least part of the movie again today.”  I’m not so sure it holds up to that standard, but it is a must see if you’re a lover of science fiction movies and the evolution thereof.

Doc

Leave a Reply

