Kidnapping little sisters is not a good idea

Mark December 18th on your calendar. Meanwhile, more insights into Debbie’s character. Debbie, Cynthia and Becky are kidnapped (or re-kidnapped depending on how you look at it. Debbie of course tried to escape and was rewarded with a concussion. As she regains consciousness the following discussion occurs:

“Either I’m still woozy or the raft is making a big turn,” Debbie whispered.
Becky joined the two girls in a tight circle. “They are turning. I can feel it. I believe that we’ve turned around and are headed back the way we came. I wish I could see outside to get my bearings.”
“Maybe we can jump out,” Debbie suggested.
“That might work if we weren’t locked in this crate,” Cynthia responded.
“So what do we do?” Debbie asked, staring at the wall.
“Sit tight,” Becky and Cynthia harmonized.
There was a pause, then Becky and Cynthia said, “We’ve been talking,” in unison. They giggled. “Go ahead,” Becky whispered to Cynthia.
“If they wanted to kill us, they would have already done it,” Cynthia began. “We know this has something to do with Ryder, but we’re not sure what. We also know that they expect Ryder to find us. So if this is a game of chess, I’d bet on Ryder to be smart enough not to run into a trap. The best response is to sit tight.”
Debbie flushed. “If you think I’m going to sit around and wait for Ryder to rescue me, you’re nuts! I’d never hear the end of it.”

Leave a Reply

